Back to All Events

The 2016 Annual Juried Competition

BAXTER ST at CCNY is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2016 Annual Juried Photography Competition and an upcoming exhibition featuring the top three competition artists, juried by artist Mickalene Thomas. The three top winners – First Place Winner Travis Brown, Second Place Winner Danielle Eliska Lyle, and Third Place Winner Marc Ohrem-Leclef offer three different but cohesive visions of contemporary photographic practice.

Exhibition dates: August 17 – September 3, 2016
Opening Reception: Wednesday, August 17, 2016, 6 – 8 pm
126 Baxter St, New York NY 10013

In addition to the exhibition, the winners will also have their work shown on the CCNY website from August 2016 on. Joining their work on the website will be work from fifteen Honorable Mentions artists.

Honorable Mention Artists:
Ben Arnon

Tom Atwood
Yael Ben-Zion

Peter Baker
Eli Durst
Christopher Evans

Dan Gemkow
Jason Gorbel
Jackson Hallberg
Groana Melendez
Sally Minker
Annick Sjobakken
Tiffany Smith
Alan Strassman
Amena Yassine

About the Juror:
New York-based artist Mickalene Thomas is best known for her elaborate paintings composed of rhinestones, acrylic and enamel. Thomas introduces a complex vision of what it means to be a woman and expands common definitions of beauty. Her work stems from her long study of art history and classical genres of portraiture, landscape, and still life. Inspired by various sources that range from 19th century Hudson River School to Edouard Manet, Henri Matisse and Romare Bearden, she continues to explore notions of beauty from a contemporary perspective infused with more recent influences of popular culture and pop art. She is represented by Lehmann Maupin in New York, Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, and Galerie Nathalie Obadia in Paris.